let’s get this show on the road

It is my last night in an almost empty room that has been my home for the past 5 years. All that is left is my bed and the four bags I’m taking with me tomorrow. One big, one with my skis padded by lots of layers of warm clothes, one that I am calling a carry-on and hope will fit in the overhead bin,and one holding all the essentials for a 19 hour trip to Trondheim.

I’m a lot excited, and a little bit nervous. I can’t wait to finally just get there and see what the next few months hold. If I was going to spend the next 3 months travelling around Norway, I’d get that. An overstuffed backpack, rotating through the same 5 shirts week after week, sharing rooms with strangers, moving to a new city or town every couple of days – that is familiar to me. But settling down in one city, for an extended period of time, trying to carve out a bit of community for myself – that is the exciting unknown that I’m anxious to experience. Sometimes you don’t realize you are craving change until it is upon you, and after 5 years of the same people, places and routines (all part of a very good life that I’ve been lucky enough to live), it is time to shake things up a bit.

I’m hoping to keep you updated on all my going-ons here on this little space on the internet, whether it be big adventures or everyday life in Scandinavia. To start you off – details of the program that brought me here, and answers to the questions I’ve been asked most often.

Next stop Trondheim, via DC and Copenhagen…

This entry was posted in expectations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to let’s get this show on the road

  1. Zun says:

    Kelly, I’m excited too by reading your blog and imaging your life in Norway! I am so proud of you! I know you are excited and a little bit nervous to all those unknowns. I had the same feeling when I was about to leave for the U.S. two years ago. Don’t worry, you will adjust to your new life and make many friends there soon! I look forward to more posts and fotos about your wonderful life there. Have a safe trip! Take care!

  2. Jen says:

    Where will you be in between sessions, January though March?

    • kelly p says:

      Seattle. Trying to finish my dissertation so I can finally graduate! I’ll be in Bingo for 10 whole days at Christmas though.

      Do you get notification that I replied to your comment?

Leave a Reply

