first glimpses of trondheim

My first couple days in Trondheim were spent getting settled and exploring. On Saturday alone I walked over 10 miles around the city. Today (Sunday) my roommate and I took a long walk through a nearby trail system along the river and then I came home to take a nap. I was totally wiped out – even though I feel like I walk (or bike) a lot in Seattle, I guess it doesn’t compare to what the Norwegians are used to!

The weather this weekend has been absolutely perfect. Crisp fall air (although the leaves really aren’t changing yet) but blue skies and sunny. I think that is about to change tomorrow, but I can’t imagine a better welcome to the city!

Below are some pictures from my exploring thus far – in the city center, as well as the surrounding hills. It isn’t intuitive, but Trondheim is bordered by water on the north (not the west as you might expect) because it is on the fjord, not the actual coast. The city center is relatively flat, but (legit) hills rise on both the east and west sides of the city, leading eventually to forests (full of trails). The “surburbs” of Trondheim are mostly to the south of the city, again giving way to hills and actual mountains – I think, I can’t actually see the mountains from here.

Like Bergen, Trondheim also has an area known as Bryggen, home to old (and newly renovated) shipping warehouses.

IMG_0088

Bryggen from Gamle Bru (old bridge), looking toward Bakke Bru (new bridge)

Bymarka is a park just outside of the city center covered with hiking/cross country ski trails. We drove most of the way up to the highest point in the park (and hiked the last 15 minutes or so) to check out the view of the city and Trondheimsfjorden.

bymarka

Views from Bymarka (notice the rainbow in the middle picture)

More views, this time from Sverresborg Folk Museum. And of the museum itself. Sverresborg was the site of a medieval castle – the first stone castle in Norway (the castle grounds were also used as a fortification by the Germans in WWII). Then in the early 1900s, a group of Trondheim residents began to “collect” buildings from different time periods in Norwegian history and consolidated them at Sverresborg. A little “detour” on my way to Sverresborg helped bump up Saturday’s walking mileage, but as you can see, it was a gorgeous day so I didn’t really mind!

sverresborg collage

Views from Sverresborg including of the radar at Bymarka – where we hiked the day before and sailboats in the fjord (if you click on the picture, you’ll get a bigger version)

sverresborg buildings

IMG_0572

The Stave church from the 1170’s – one of only 29 Stave churches  left in Norway (plus some other cute buildings – I’ll take one, but with electricity please!)

Tomorrow I’m going to brave to police station to hopefully get my residency permit documentation taken care of (I’ve been told to expect that it might take all day, and then Tuesday will be my first day in the office!

This entry was posted in exploring trondheim. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

