heart-shaped waffles

In honor of Valentine’s Day (although I am a few days late), I thought I’d tell you a little story about Norwegian waffles and my heart-shaped waffle maker.

In Norway waffles are kind of a big deal. They aren’t like American waffles (or really Belgium waffles I guess). They are rather thin and more chewy (kind of like eggos, I guess). You don’t eat them for breakfast – well maybe you can, I just suspect not – instead eat them as dessert or a snack. And maybe the most important difference is that you don’t top them with syrup but instead with a bit of jam or a slice of brown cheese. Oh, and did I mention that they are heart-shaped?

Right before I came back to the US for Christmas I made an impulse purchase of a heart-shaped waffle maker.

It wasn’t until the next morning that I realized that the plug on the waffle maker wouldn’t fit in a US outlet. No big deal – buy an adaptor. It wasn’t until I got back to the US that I realized that there was a voltage conversion issue as well. Turns out that converter costs more than the waffle maker ($34 waffle maker, $50+ converter) – weighs more too. Whoops!

It was Amazon.com to the rescue! A North American waffle maker (complete with hearts) was gifted to my brother and co. and I brought the Norwegian waffle maker back to Seattle with me where it made itself at home under my desk.

Tonight I decided to give the waffle maker a try. I have the plug converter and my line of thinking (later confirmed by a former roommate who is a wealth of information regarding how things work) was that the waffle maker wouldn’t blow up, but instead just take longer to heat up.

IMG_1662

And slow it was… about 10 minutes a batch and they were still a little gooey on the inside. But least there were no smoking appliances.

So tada! Here we have them – my first set of handmade Norwegian waffles! Lovely hearts for a belated Valentine’s Day. Slather them with a bit of jam and enjoy!

IMG_1667

This entry was posted in all things norwegian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to heart-shaped waffles

  1. these are one of my favorite things about norway!!!!

Leave a Reply

