god påske {happy easter} and my first norwegian mini ski tour

Easter is a big deal in Norway. People have a 5+ days off of work to steal away to their cabins in the mountains and ski (and eat oranges and chocolate, or so I am told). The city is empty and all the shops are closed. My first order of business when I arrived in Trondheim was to get to the grocery store. If I didn’t make it Wednesday night I’d be out of luck until Saturday.

IMG_2110

(annotated translation – open on Wednesday, but closing early (beer sales until 6pm); closed Thursday and Friday; open Saturday from 9 until 4 (beer sales only until 3); closed Sunday and Monday; normal hours on Tuesday)

I have to admit, the city wasn’t the total ghost town that I was expecting. Many cafes and bars were open and I saw many people walking around, especially when the sun was out. I should mention that prior to my arrival all the snow had disappeared from the town, but it has been snowing consistently all week and there is a solid 6” on the ground in town, and more up in the hills I am sure. I awoke to the snow plow passing by on Easter Sunday. Many people seem to be ready for spring, but I’m not complaining.

Photos from my wanderings…

IMG_2117

IMG_2140

IMG_2152

The highlight of my own personal Easter holiday was the skiing (as it should be here in Norway). With the return of the snow, the ski hill just 30km from here was able to reopen. From the same price as a bus that would take me into the city center (a mere 2km), I was able to hop on a bus just 2 blocks from my house and be in (on?) my skis just 45 minutes later. (EDITED TO ADD: Bus prices have gone up and it actually costs more for a round trip into the city center than a round trip to the ski hill!)

P4070029

From the first run I was all smiles. With the lack of crowds (everyone should go to their cabins more often) and foot+ of fresh snow it was like first tracks on repeat! With end of the season confidence and hero snow I did have to remind myself to dial it back quite a few times – it wasn’t easy.

I also managed to master the t-bars, a big feat after a near-death experience on the Blackcomb Glacier at Whistler a few years ago!

P4070023

On my rides up, I’d look wistfully as the untracked off-piste. I wanted to ski it, but knew it wasn’t safe to do alone (especially with the mountain being half empty). But as I got to the top of the t-bars later in the afternoon I saw a guy putting skins on his skis. Half out of curiosity and half hoping he’d invite me to join (I conveniently had my skins in my pack) I approached him and asked where he was going. He pointed to the tower on the top of the hill and asked if I had skins. 5 minutes later we were on our way!

P4070030

(at the top, completely fogged in)

It was a short ski (600 m/2000 ft) but the snow was AMAZING! At the bottom my new ski buddy asked if I had been over to the other side of the mountain. When I said I had only admired it from afar he suggested we hit it up. The only downside to all this was that I was beat by this point. There were several face plants on my final run – at least the snow was soft!

And then I went home, tired legs but happy. Takk for turen (thanks for the trip) to my ski buddy for the afternoon!

This entry was posted in all things norwegian, daily life, exploring trondheim. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to god påske {happy easter} and my first norwegian mini ski tour

  1. Kristina says:

    Awesome! That sounds really fun! Did you get his digits so you can go again? It’s always good to have ski buddies!

Leave a Reply

