third time’s a charm

2013 seemed like a good year to shake things up.

I’m back in Trondheim for my third visit in just over a year, although this time it is less of a visit and more of a permanent move! I applied for a job last year, interviewed when I was here in the spring, and was offered the job just after I graduated this summer.

The past 3 months have been busy (although maybe less busy than say, the final 3 months of my PhD work…); wrapping up things at work, packing up my belongings, checking things off the Seattle bucket list, and saying goodbye to my dear friends. I think the busyness was good though, it kept me from freaking out about the fact that I had just decided to move to another country!

I’ve been back in Trondheim for almost a week now, and numerous times I’ve acknowledged how thankful I am for moving to a city that is familiar and comfortable to me. I had a place to stay when I first arrived (with friends), knew where the closest grocery store was, could walk around without a map in hand, had people to entertain me over the weekend…

Even so, my first day was a little rough (and I am sure it was just the first of many rough days in the whole process). But since then I’ve recuperated from the cold I caught during my travels, adjusted to having just 4 hours of daylight, started work, and signed the lease on an apartment that I love!

I’m excited to settle into my new home and my new job, and explore more of Trondheim, Norway, and Europe. Here goes nothing!

This entry was posted in all things norwegian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

