busy days

It is amazing how fast time goes by. Tomorrow it will be 4 weeks that I’ve been in Trondheim! And those 4 weeks have been incredibly busy. Who knew that moving to a new country, starting a new job, and getting settled would require so much effort!?!?

In the past 4 weeks I’ve…

  • moved in to my very own apartment — I haven’t lived alone in over 6 years and I am completely relishing that this place is all mine!
  • gotten my residency permit, ID number and tax card.
  • opened a bank account – although I am anxiously awaiting that first paycheck!
  • bought a couch – I’m still waiting for that too (I was told it would be in last Friday but when I called today, they told me next week – boo!)
  • went on a cabin trip (a post with pictures is coming soon).
  • gave my first lecture.
  • shopped at IKEA, twice.
  • survived my first –10C (10F) run.
  • started Norwegian classes.
  • celebrated my birthday.
  • went cross-country skiing.
  • got lost explored my new neighborhood.

And that is just the interesting stuff…

P1050550

Looking out from a viewpoint near my apartment.

There have obviously been challenges as I adjust and adapt to life in Norway, but so far so good. In some ways, it already seems like home, and I can only believe it will get better as I continue to settle into my apartment and job, as the days become longer and the snow more plentiful (please Mother Nature, please!), and as I spent more time developing friendships.

More stories of life in Norway to come soon, I promise – but I think it is a good sign to have to say I’ve been too busy living life to write about it!

This entry was posted in all things norwegian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

