fish curry

Just a warning, you might want to sit down before you read this… because I am going to talk about cooking. I know, crazy right!?!? I still dislike cooking (and going grocery shopping) but I no longer have the excuse that I don’t get home from work until 8 or 9 at night (and a dinner out costs atleast $30 – not including drinks).

Anyway, they eat a lot of fish ’round here. Salmon (and cod) might be one of the few things at the grocery store that is comparable in price to the US. Thus, I eat a lot of it.

When I was in Alaska a few summers ago, my brother and I splurged on a big meal in Homer before heading to the airport. I had an amazing fish curry (I swear it would have amazing even if I hadn’t spent the previous 9 days hiking and camping in the wilds of Alaska). When I saw this recipe in the paper last spring, it reminded me of that yummy meal. 11 months later, I finally got around to trying it.

I was a little bit worried because the original recipe called for shredded “white cheese” on top of the whole dish. I decided to forego the cheese, but was hoping that wasn’t a sign the the whole recipe was a bust. Luckily not. I am happy to report that the curry was delish (both the first time around and as lunch the next day) and is definitely a recipe that I would make again.

Here is the english version of the recipe with some tweaks (no cheese but more veggies). I think next time I might add some salmon (a key component of the Alaskan curry). I also think it would be good if you added some spice! as well.

Note: The original recipe was for 4 servings. I halved the recipe but found that the curry sauce wasn’t enough to cover all the fish and vegetables, so I ended up making a second half-batch. The recipe below is for 4 servings with my adjusted measurements for the sauce.

Cod and Pawn Curry

1 lb (500 g) cod fillet
1 lb (500 g) shrimp
1 teaspoon salt
4 garlic cloves (I used 4 teaspoons of garlic powder as that was all I had on hand)
4 teaspoons curry powder
4 tablespoons tomato paste
1-3/4 cups (4 dL) cream
3/4+ cups (2 dL) milk
half a bag of frozen peas
2 or 3 sliced carrots
1 medium size zucchini, sliced
4 servings of rice

Preheat the over to 440 F (225 C)
Grease a casserole dish
Place shrimp and cod (cut into small pieces) in casserole dish, sprinkle with salt
Add vegetables
Mix crushed garlic, tomato paste, curry, milk and cream
Pour sauce over fish and veggies and mix a bit
Bake for 20 minutes or until veggies are at the softness level you prefer (I baked it for 30 minutes)
Serve over rice and enjoy!

This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

