it doesn’t always rain in oslo

I had to make a trip down to Oslo a few weeks ago for a meeting. It takes 30 minutes to get from my house to the airport, then a 1 hour flight and another 30 minutes from the Oslo airport into the city – thus 2 hours of travel time each way, not including airport waiting time, for a two hour meeting! Since I haven’t been to the “big city” since my first visit to Norway in 2009, I decided to take advantage of the trip and spend a few more hours there.

Highlights included:

SUN! My first trip to Norway included 2 stops in Oslo. Both times it was rainy, so it was nice to finally see Oslo in the sun.

photo (17)

FRIENDS! My friends from Iceland (who I visited last year in Reykjavik) recently moved to Oslo. They invited me over to celebrate the Icelandic National Day with them and their adorable little children.

kelly-2013

(picture blatantly stolen from Gretar)

STARBUCKS! This is currently Norway’s only Starbucks, at the Oslo airport. (EDIT: Another Starbucks opened up in central Oslo in late May). There is something comforting about the familiar. More Starbucks are arriving in Norway later this year. Not that I drink coffee…

CameraAwesomePhoto (3)

It was a successful meeting and a wonderful evening, but next time I think I need to stay a little longer and explore a little bit more!

This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to it doesn’t always rain in oslo

  1. Sharon says:

    Life without coffee?! I can’t even imagine the horror.

    • kelly p says:

      There is plenty of coffee here, just not from Starbucks! Norway is #2 in the world when it comes to per capita coffee consumption (after Finland). Must be the 2 official coffee breaks we have a day.

  2. I had no idea that there were barely any Starbucks in Norway! Not that I’m a big coffee drinker, but I’m moving to Bergen soon, so it’s comforting to know that coffee consumption in Norway is so high – despite the lack of the big coffee shop chain. 😉

Leave a Reply

