questions answered

While there are stories in my head, there never seems to be the time (or motivation) to put them on paper (otherwise known as the blog). I really want to work on this because I enjoy reading about people’s experiences and adventures living abroad, and thus feel like maybe I too should contribute to this field of “literature” (spoken as a true researcher!). Perhaps to jumpstart me, Jen at Lady, Relocated (one of the expat/travel blogs I enjoy reading) nominated me to answer some questions.

What 3 items do you always pack on a trip?

1. My cameras (typically my DLSR and my iPhone – but on a few recent short trips, I’ve left the big camera at home (gasp!) and managed with just the iPhone).

2. A book – these days of the electronic variety. I typically use my iPad (that is what I read from at home) but I’ve recently considered going back to my Nook when traveling so I don’t have to worry about it too much (I would not be as sad if the Nook got stolen or wet or sand in all its nooks and crannies).

3. Good walking shoes – I walk A LOT when travelling (although I’ve been struggling recently to find something that is comfortable, cute, and versatile. Any suggestions?).

What is the best meal you’ve ever had and where did you have it?

This is a hard one. I’ve had many good meals in my life. These days I most miss the variety and creativity of American food (which often comes from other cultures). But if I was on death row and got to pick a final meal, I’d probably request a pulled pork sandwich and sweet potato fries from Buckley’s in Queen Anne (Seattle).

Where are you planning to go on your next trip(s)?

November is full of travel! I’m headed to Marseille, France on Friday to visit a friend. And consume lots of wine and cheese. The day after I return I’m headed to Gotenburg, Sweden. It is a work trip, but I’ll have a few hours to explore the city and visit a(nother) friend. And then at the end of the month I’m taking a quick weekend trip to London to eat, shop, and see the Book of Mormon.

What’s your favorite blog post that you’ve written? Please share the link!

Most of my posts focus on either adjusting to life in Norway or on my travels.

My favorite life in Norway post is probably the story about the time I picked up 7 Norwegian fellas in parking lot of a ski resort and got them to invite me to dinner. When ever I drive by their house just outside of Oppdal, I still think of that evening.

My favorite traveling post is about my trip to Brussels. Because Brussels isn’t the most exciting place in Belgium to visit, yet I had a great time and seemed to convince several friends that they should visit. Brussels Tourist Information, if you are reading – I’ll take my payment in chocolate and beer 🙂

5) What are your hobbies?

Travel. So many places to see, so little time… I’ve visited 47 US states (to answer the inevitable question – Kanas, Missouri and Alabama) and over 30 countries (mostly in North/Central America and Europe). I love visiting new places and seeking out interesting experiences.

Spending time outside. I love to ski, hike, run (love/hate relationship), and ride my bike.

As I’ve gotten older, I more appreciate cozy days/evenings at home. This appreciation comes in handy during the dark days of a Norwegian winter. I like watching crime dramas on Netflix (currently watching The Killing), playing boardgames (currently playing Ticket to Ride), and reading (currently finishing up Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and getting ready to start Above by Isla Morely). I’m learning how to knit and how to cook these days as well. I should probably spend more time working on my blog.

This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to questions answered

  1. Your blog about the Norwegian ski fellas was one of my faves too!

  2. Yay, finally catching up on my blog reading. Some great answers here. I completely relate to your “cozy days/evenings at home” and affinity for Netflix. I’m right there with ya!

Leave a Reply

